La Salle Alumni United makes waves in Ceres Cup

University of St. La Salle Alumni United defied age limits to earn a 3rd runner up finish in the Mens Open of the recently concluded 2015 Ceres Cup last May 17 at the North Football field in Bacolod City.

 The veteran squad beat SMYC, a vietnamese squad, 4-3 in the quarterfinals but unluckily bowed to eventual champions Ceres-La Salle College A 2-3 at the final minute in the semi-finals.

Expectations were low before the tournament for this Alumni squad who didn’t think they would make it past the group stage.

The hastily-formed squad scored three successive wins against teams like Kabankalan and Silver Dragons to top their group to secure a quarter final seat.

In the quarters, they raced to 3-0 lead after getting goals from former standouts in FJ Serios, Recoy Gustilo, and Patrick Martir. The squad took it easy after getting the lead which saw them concede two goals until Serios scored again to give a comfortable lead.  The vietnamese scored to complete the the final score 4-3.

The semis was a different story coming up against Ceres-La Salle College A who won the U22 title the day before.  Jo Bedia, son of former Mr Football Joel Bedia, opened the scoring  with a well placed shot past former Azkal goalkeeper Archie Bayquin to make it 1-0 for the collegiate squad.

The Alumni squad equalized a few minutes after with a FJ Serios-strike to stun the collegiate squad. It didn’t take long as Alumni United took the lead care of an Aldrin Dolino goal.

The varsity squad equalized after a few minutes to make the game interesting.  In the final minute, Ceres-La Salle A scored a screamer from half-line to dash the hopes of the Alumni Squad for an unprecedented finals appearance.

La Salle Alumni United succumbed to 2-3 defeat in a penalty shootout to Ceres-La Salle College B to close out the tournament.  Its only the beginning for the Alumni squad who aims to join more tournaments in the future.

Members of the squad are: Miguel Rivero, Eric Gallaga, Recoy Gustilo Campo, FJ Serios, Jason Padilla, Aldrin Dolino, MJ & Mike Benedicto, Marson Delatorre, Jet Diel, Archie Bayquin and Team Captain Patrick Martir. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s